My Inner Mystic

reflections and insight into my healing, transformation, and journey of the heart <3

A Little Hummingbird Message

The hummingbirds continue to whisper to me, almost on a daily basis.  If I stay attuned, I will see numerous hummingbirds in one day and hear others that remain hidden in the trees and unseen.  My most abundant day:  I saw five hummingbirds and heard a sixth.  Yesterday I might have actually seen and heard more than that, but I stopped counting in my practice of staying present in the moment and just listened again and again as I heard these birds sing.  A few times I paused and searched the trees until I spotted the little bird.  In these moments, I was gifted with joy as I watched these birds dance and sing.

This week I received a very significant message, one I feel compelled to share in this special “hummingbird edition” blog post.  I was “communing” with my first and most reliable hummingbird friend.  As I do on most days when I “commune” with my little bird friend, I stopped to see if he or she would sing for me.  My little friend sang, but I had a really hard time hearing his or her voice.  To my left a crow was cawing, “caw, caw, caw” and overpowering the voice of this much smaller and more delicate bird.  To my right the rumblings of the cars crossing over the steel grate of the Fremont Bridge were drowning out the hummingbird’s voice.  Between the crow and the traffic, I could barely hear the hummingbird sing.  I had to listen intently to hear the hummingbird’s voice over all the sounds of city life and the Seattle bird kingdom.  In that moment I knew the message:  LISTEN.

I saw the irony in this moment of listening and knew the message, LISTEN, is a metaphor for my own life.  The cawing of the crow and the rumblings of traffic is akin to my own mental and emotional chatter that is overpowering and drowning out MY voice.  In my new life, I have been on a journey to discover my own voice and these last few weeks, with the guidance of my hummingbird friends, I have really been trying to listen to my voice, my inner wisdom and intuition.  It’s hard to access this current of wisdom and intuition that resides deep within and as my last post, “Wings of Infinity,” illustrates, I am getting mixed messages.  My emotions are tugging pretty hard at me and coloring everything; these emotions are making it really hard to see and hear clearly.

I think about the bird’s positioning in relation to the crow and the cars.  The hummingbird was right in the center, the same place my own voice and intuition resides:  in MY center.  So as I did in this moment, I simply need to be still, to quiet the chatter, and tune into my own voice and hear the words of MY song vibrating in my heart.

I discovered Lady Guru at Mandala, a lovely shop in Playa Guiones, Costa Rica.

“Listen” is the card I pulled from my affirmation deck earlier this week.  The Universe is clearly giving me a message.

12 responses to “A Little Hummingbird Message

  1. theawakenedlife March 24, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    Beautiful Bobbi! My favorite one yet! 🙂

  2. downwardfacingdoc March 24, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Wonderful posts. Namaste!
    DFD

  3. Katy E. Ellis March 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    What a sweet post, Bobbi. Thanks for the little lift in my evening! xoxoxkaty

  4. myinnermystic March 26, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks all for sharing in my joyous and insightful moment. I’m finding new meaning in the phrase “a little birdie told me.”

  5. KT March 27, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    ‘Listen’ is such a powerful message! I am so excited about the things you are already hearing. 🙂

  6. munchow April 6, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    It’s a beautiful post. Yes, we all need to listen to our inner voice, which is all too often being ignore thanks for too much noise from the surroundings. As to hummingbirds, I was a little surprised to see them this far north as Seattle, but like you I enjoy having them around.

    • myinnermystic April 9, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      Hi. Thanks for reading my post and for the comments. Yes, it’s truly amazing how abundant the hummingbird population is in Seattle. I saw several on a recent walk around Green Lake. One little guy gave me quite the display of red – his entire head and upper body was shimmering in red.

  7. Dave Lister May 6, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    A little message in length, but big in it’s meaning. I’m impressed how you are able to focus in on the soft songs of hummingbirds amidst all the other noises that nature and humans create. This is a truly beautiful metaphor for our necessity to dull the clatter of internal and external factors that cloud our minds. A beautiful “little” message, Ms. Hummingbird Whisperer!

  8. rachelmiller1511 June 6, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Love the message- it’s amazing how many messages we can find in the seemingly “small”.

    I would sooo love to see a hummingbird (don’t have any in the UK :-(), they’re so beautiful!

  9. Pingback: A Change in Perspective « My Inner Mystic

Leave a Reply

