My Inner Mystic

reflections and insight into my healing, transformation, and journey of the heart <3

How has yoga impacted your life?

Today is the birthday of one of my yoga teachers and peer, Erin.

Erin has made a very simple birthday wish, or goal.  Her birthday wish is to receive 50 comments in answer to her question: “how has yoga impacted your life?”

In her birthday blog post, “The Best Birthday Present Ever,” Erin invites readers to share one sentence (or even one word) to characterize how yoga has impacted their lives.

courtesy of "Awakened Heart Yoga"

courtesy of “Awakened Heart Yoga”

Erin’s birthday wish for people to share the positive benefits of yoga in their lives grows out of her desire to foster a “more enlightened community” through her blog.  Erin blogs daily at Awakened Heart Yoga where she often speaks from her own experience of coming out of the darkness and into the light, encouraging and inspiring others to discover the light as well.

Please join me in celebrating Erin’s birthday and helping to make her birthday wish come true by sharing how yoga has impacted YOUR life.

To share, simply click here:  “The Best Birthday Present Ever

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What did “My Inner Mystic” come up with for a word or words?

The first word that came to mind was “stronger.”  Because of yoga I am stronger in my body, my mind, my heart/emotional center, and my spirit.

Other words that came to me upon deeper reflection are “richer,” “integrated,” and “aligned.”

5 responses to “How has yoga impacted your life?

  1. The Yoga Diaries February 7, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Erin would be the perfect person to submit a story to The Yoga Diaries! Please do tell her about it. It’s great exposure for her and her studio! http://theyogadiaries.net/submit-a-story/

  2. luvwhatuce April 28, 2013 at 8:49 am

    To be honest, I don’t do yoga as often as I once did. But, for a good chunk of time, years ago…I did Hot Yoga regularly. It gave me SO much! My husband always said I came home “glowing & giddy.” I began attending only certain instructor’s classes. Teachers really do make a difference (I found). Their kind, encouraging words interspersed with the athleticism of yoga moves, gave me strength I’m not sure I knew I had. Does that make sense?? Anyways, it really changed me for the better! 🙂

    (I need to get back to it…lol)

    • myinnermystic April 29, 2013 at 9:36 pm

      Thanks for sharing. Sure, yes, I definitely find that some teachers really inspire me. Sometimes their words of encouragement or the wisdom they offer in class can be just as transformative to our hearts as the physical experience of holding a pose. And I find that regular practitioners of yoga have what I call the “yoga glow,” which is a glow of health and vitality.

      • luvwhatuce April 30, 2013 at 6:18 am

        Well said!! It’s so true. Their words of encouragement can completely transform one’s heart & soul! 🙂

        Happy Tuesday-

Leave a Reply

