My Inner Mystic

reflections and insight into my healing, transformation, and journey of the heart <3

Yoga & NVC: An Interview

How can we practice yoga off the mat?  One way is by cultivating and practicing compassionate or non-violent communication, toward ourselves and toward others.  Does practicing yoga in our communication sound like a stretch?

As I learned from my teacher, Karl, non-violent communication (NVC) has its roots in ancient yoga philosophy.  Marshall Rosenberg drew inspiration from the The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali when he crafted non-violent communication.  Ahiṁsā, or non-violence, is the first of the five yamas and the yamas are the first of the eight limbs of yoga (see sutra II.30).

I was recently interviewed by one of my yoga teachers and peers, Erin Goldman of Awakened Heart Yoga, about my studies in NVC and the relationship between yoga and NVC.  I invite you to listen to my interview with Erin as I share how practicing NVC is an extension of my yoga practice.  I speak of the idea that learning and practicing NVC is “stretching on the inside” and the importance of cultivating deeper listening to ourselves and others.

I was struck, in listening to myself speak, how much knowledge and wisdom I’ve absorbed and integrated from my teachers of yoga and non-violent communication.  I can hear their voices in my voice!

To read Erin’s introduction and listen, click here: interview

To only listen, click here: interview

“Compassionate action is a practice, one of the most advanced.  There’s nothing more advanced than communication—compassionate communication.”~ Pema Chödrön, When Things Fall Apart

“Since in order to speak,
one must first listen,
learn to speak by listening.”

~ Rumi

2 responses to “Yoga & NVC: An Interview

  1. Basia May 25, 2013 at 9:27 am

    Bobbi,

    I love and admire your commitment to integrity of thought, speech, and action. It is so neat to see your awareness blossom and to learn from you by the example you are setting 🙂

    Thank you!
    🙂 Basia

  2. myinnermystic May 25, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Hi Basia ~ Thank you for your kind words. Blossoming, indeed! I value learning from others who model behavior or actions I admire or wish to integrate into my life and I like to model for others the brightened and awakened way of being in the world that I am cultivating in my life. ❤

Leave a Reply

