My Inner Mystic

reflections and insight into my healing, transformation, and journey of the heart <3

HUG!

HUG

We need love not only to survive, but to thrive.

I know this to be true because I am hungry for love.  I am going through a stretch of really feeling this hunger deep in my body.  Much the way our bodies communicate to us when we are hungry for food, for nourishment, saying “feed me!” – our stomachs might growl or start to hurt, we might feel weak or fatigued, we might experience other extreme feedback if our bodies are depleted of essential vitamins or minerals – our bodies communicate our need for the nourishment of love.  I feel the tangible ache in my heart, I have that insatiable feeling of not getting enough to eat, of needing more food.  I am feeling very hungry for deeper connection, for intimacy.  I am feeling hungry for love.

We humans are much like the flowers, plants, and trees that grow on this planet, all of which need sun, water, and nutrient soil not only to survive, but to thrive. For us our sun, water, and nutrients are LOVE.  And one of the most primary or fundamental ways we experience love is through touch and HUGS.

We need 4 hugs a day for survival. We need 8 hugs a day for maintenance. We need 12 hugs a day for growth. ~ Virginia Satir, psychotherapist

Yoga teacher Marcus Julian Felicetti writes in “10 Reasons Why We Need at Least 8 Hugs a Day,”

Hugs strengthen the immune system. The gentle pressure on the sternum and the emotional charge this creates activates the Solar Plexus Chakra. This stimulates the thymus gland, which regulates and balances the body’s production of white blood cells, which keep you healthy and disease free.

He also writes that hugs “boost self-esteem” and balance the nervous system.  Hugs are like an elixir for health and well being.  Hugs prompt the body to release that “feel good” hormone, oxytocin.

I invite everyone who reads this to a HUG challenge:  give at least eight hugs a day, because when we give, we also receive.

8 responses to “HUG!

  1. KT July 31, 2013 at 8:27 am

    That’s a great challenge!

    • myinnermystic July 31, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Indeed! And you can imagine, since I put out out this post with consciousness, that I am keenly aware of my daily hug count. Yesterday it was a very sad 2, well below the “survival” line. Making a concerted effort to increase that number.

  2. Basia July 31, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    I love hugs! Great post Bobbi. It reminded me of a Rumi poem called “There is Some Kiss” where he writes about longing for love. I’ve been there. My longing took me to my love….honor the longing 🙂

    Love,
    Basia

    • myinnermystic August 1, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      Beautiful poem. Here is an excerpt.

      “At night, I open the window
      and ask the moon to come
      and press its face into mine.
      Breathe into me.”

      Thanks for sharing. Hoping the longing will serve as a catalyst that will yield a bounty of love.

  3. Alicia August 12, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Sending you a dozen hugs and praying for your heart.

    • myinnermystic August 12, 2013 at 5:47 pm

      Hi Alicia. I remain grateful to you for opening my heart to hugs. I imagine there is an abundance of hugs in your house.

      For those with kids, here is a reminder from Marcus Julian Felicetti of why hugs are soo important in our formative years:

      “From the time we’re born our family’s touch shows us that we’re loved and special. The associations of self-worth and tactile sensations from our early years are still imbedded in our nervous system as adults. The cuddles we received from our Mom and Dad while growing up remain imprinted at a cellular level, and hugs remind us at a somatic level of that. Hugs, therefore, connect us to our ability to self love.”

  4. deborahbrasket September 10, 2013 at 9:22 am

    Love this! I’ve been working on a post for later this week about “the accident of touching” and blogging. How blogging is a way to touch others from the inside out, sharing our thoughts, our inspiration, our aspirations. We need physical touch, and touching in the inside too. Serendipitous, finding this today.

Leave a Reply

